Categories
Search
Bottom

Conversion MyBB to bbPress

• EzYRiDaH
    Participant

@ezyridah

Hi there,
    First of all I am not a hardcore coder. Used to code 20 years ago, so I can read a lot of the syntax, but am quite new to the javascript, php etc. Can handle myself a bit in sql though.

I am trying to migrate a very big MyBB forum to bbPres (1,7 mlj posts and 63k discussions). Tried to do it directly on my VPS, but it took way too long. Ages…

After some trial and error I was able to make a complete dump of the MyBB as SQL and imported it on my Mac’s MAMP. I was one happy muppet and kicked of the conversion.

Whatever I do I keep getting the same messages. No error messages, just that there is nothing to convert. I have tried every scenario I could think of that could go wrong. Localhost port, userid/pass on database, prefix etc etc. Whatever I do, even leave blank fields to get some kind of error message, I still get the same result. Absolutely nothing to convert.

I’ve checked the code but could not find any error handling. Could be there, but I am not too familiar on linking php code files.

I get the feeling this is some kind of MAMP issue because I got it to run on my VPN.

Any help / suggestions are more than welcome.

Thanks in advance!

Viewing 13 replies - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • As I don’t own a Mac, yet, I think this is the issue in that your MAMP setup is using port 8888:

https://bbpress.org/forums/topic/bbpress-2-3-now-available/page/3/#post-133305

The only difference between XAMPP and MAMP (free) is that XAMPP uses “localhost” host name, while MAMP (free) uses “localhost:8888″ when using MAMP ports by default (MAMP pro uses “localhost” that tell why it works OK with you). So I went to MAMP preferences and changed the ports settings to use default Apache and MySQL ports to use “localhost” instead of “localhost:8888″, and finally posting topics and replies is available again 🙂