Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

color attribute

• I’ve written a WYSIWYG plugin for my BBPress install. It replaces the standard textarea with the TinyMCE WYSIWYG editor based on an option in the user profile.

I’ve incorporated code from Michael D Adams’ ‘Allow Images’ plugin and extended it a little to include paragraph <p> tags and <span> tags.

Everything is working fine, except for one issue that is driving me mad.

When a span with color set in it’s style attribute set, the color: gets stripped out. For example <span style=”color: #ff0000;”> becomes <span style=””>.

I can’t figure this out for the life of me! Other CSS attributes are fine, for example text-align:, background-color:, text-decoration: all work fine.

I’ve tried the following two bits of code with no success:

1. $tags = array(‘style’ => array());

2. $tags = array(‘style’ => array(‘color’ => array()));

Does anyone know if there is a way I can modify this behavior?

This is my first attempt at a plugin, so apologies if I’m missing something obvious here!

Thanks,

Rick

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• chrishajer
    Participant

@chrishajer

I think you might have better luck at the TinyMCE forum. It’s not a bbPress problem, (unless it’s a filter stripping out the tags) but something TinyMCE is doing with your span tags.

http://tinymce.moxiecode.com/punbb/

I suspect though that it’s got to do with the rules for span elements. The XHTML ruleset allows style but I’m not sure why it strips out the color. Or, are you filtering this through something in bbPress that would strip that out? (in WordPress, I think kses handles that.) Can you post spans with a color style as administrator? How about the ‘admin can post anything’ plugin?

https://bbpress.org/plugins/topic/admin-can-post-anything/

If the admin can post the <span style="color: #ff0000;">, WYSIWYG or not, then it’s likely a filter in bbPress that is stripping that code out.