Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

bbPress vs. a plugin

• (I cross posted this in the WP Support forums)

Hi,

Last night I did my first install of WordPress with a little help from the nice people hanging out in the Installation Forum – thanks again everybody. BTW, it took me a long time to do as I’m very new to mysql, php, ect.

Today, I’d like to add a forum. I’m very worried about screwing up my database or having to tinker with too many files. I’d like to add it now because I’ve yet to start customizing my site (WP is my main page BTW)and figure I should get all the things I want in there first, then go to work adding content ect.

I’ve read (or at least looked at the headlines for the first 100 post in these forums related to forums plugin).

So, here’s my question:I want a forum that will have about 10 or so categories listed under about five different cities. For instance: Chicago Jobs, Housing, For Sale, Events, ect.

Of course I want people only to log in once and I understand that bbPress and some plugins can do that.

It doesn’t have to be fancy or anything.

So, as a newb to using databases and php, should I choose a stand-alone like bbPress or a plugin I just upload to Wp?

I’m asking you assuming you are much more experienced with these things than I and will know which is better for someone at my level.

Thanks for reading this long post

Viewing 9 replies - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Uh, yeah, thanks for copy-and-pasting. When you are asking other people to spend their time helping you, the least you can do is take a little time to make it easy and appropriate for them.

> So, as a newb to using databases and php, should I choose a stand-alone like bbPress or a plugin I just upload to Wp?

If you can install wordpress, you can install bbpress. It’s no harder. Integrating them is also not difficult. Despite never having used one I’d assume a plugin would be a little easier though.